Skip to main content


2017 NIST Awards Recognize Baldrige Staff for Performance Excellence

Jamie Ambrosi, Dawn Bailey, Jacqueline Calhoun, Harry Hertz, and Patricia Hilton received the Bronze Medal Award for their work on the Baldrige Executive Fellows Program.

Washington, D.C. The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) this week recognized more than 100 staff members for their service to the country. Among the honorees are ten members of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program (BPEP).

“BPEP does much of the intellectual heavy lifting for the Baldrige Enterprise,” said Al Faber, President and CEO of the Foundation for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, private partner of the Program, primarily responsible for continued funding of BPEP. “The number of BPEP staff members highlighted in this year’s awards demonstrates what a tremendous job they do in preserving and growing the legacy of Malcolm Baldrige.”

The Bronze Medal Award for Superior Federal Service is the highest recognition awarded by NIST, recognizing work that has resulted in more effective and efficient management systems and demonstrates unusual initiative or creative ability. As a group, Jamie Ambrosi, Dawn Bailey, Jacqueline Calhoun, Harry Hertz, and Patricia Hilton received the award for their work on the Baldrige Executive Fellows Program.

The Fellows Program, which began in 2011, has been recognized as one of the top ten leadership development programs in the United States every year from 2013 through 2017, providing an exceptional learning opportunity for 94 executives to date, who have been driving forces for innovation in their organizations.

GarshickEllen Garshick also received a Bronze Medal Award for her work leading the continuing development and evolution of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Framework. Ms. Garshick manages the regular revisions of the Framework, bringing together quality professionals and organizational leaders to ensure that the framework remains relevant on the leading edge of validated leadership practice. In addition, Ms. Garshick has led the effort to produce several derivative products targeting specific needs of specific audiences.

Uriano AwardThe George A. Uriano Award recognizes outstanding achievements in building or strengthening NIST extramural programs, with emphasis on fostering U.S. competitiveness and business excellence. BPEP staff members Robert Hunt, Rebecca Bayless, Ellen Garshick, Jamie Ambrosi, Jacqueline Calhoun, Dawn Bailey, Scott Kurtz, and Christine Schaefer received the award for their work in expanding the opportunities for organizations to benefit from the Baldrige Excellence Framework.

The Baldrige Collaborative Assessment and the Baldrige Site Visit Experience, developed by this team, allows any organization to benefit from the knowledge and experience of the Baldrige Board of Examiners.

“We are proud of the work done by our public partners at BPEP,” said Faber. “Their efforts reflect the innovative and entrepreneurial spirit that as helped increase the reach and impact of the Baldrige Enterprise.”